All About Turkey

Seven Ecumenical Councils

An ecumenical council is an official gathering of representatives of the whole Church to settle religious issues. Today, all three of the major branches of Christianity, Orthodox, Catholics and Protestants, recognize first seven ecumenical councils which were gathered in Asia Minor and in Constantinople (modern Istanbul) between 325 - 787 AD in order to reach a consensus for the undivided church.

First Ecumenical Council Nicea, Asia Minor, 325 A.D. Formulated the First Part of the Creed. Defining the divinity of the Son of God.
Second Ecumenical Council Constantinople I 381 A.D. Formulated the Second Part of the Creed, defining the divinity of the Holy Spirit.
Third Ecumenical Council Ephesus, Asia Minor 431 A.D. Defined Christ as the Incarnate Word of God and Mary as Theotokos.
Fourth Ecumenical Council Chalcedon, Asia Minor 451 A.D. Defined Christ as Perfect God and Perfect God and Perfect Man in One Person.
Fifth Ecumenical Council Constantinople II 553 A.D. Reconfirmed the Doctrines of the Trinity and Christ.
Sixth Ecumenical Council Constantinople III 680 A.D. Affirmed the True Humanity of Jesus by insisting upon the reality of His Human will and action.
Qinisext Council (Trullo) Constantinople IV 692 A.D. Completed the 5th and 6th Ecumenical Councils 
Seventh Ecumenical Council Nicea, Asia Minor 787 A.D. Affirmed the propriety of icons as genuine expressions of the Christian Faith.

All About Turkey © Burak Sansal 1996–2019, a certified professional tour guide in Turkey. Contact Burak at for all kinds of regular and/or private travel services throughout the country.